Call Us at: 954-736-2400 | Open Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm
Call Us at: 954-736-2400 | Open Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm

17th Annual Legal Aid For the Public Good Event Draws More than 260 to Honor Community Advocates

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (Oct. 29, 2018) – More than 260 people came out to celebrate community advocates in the legal industry during the 17th annual Legal Aid Service of Broward County (LAS) and Coast to Coast Legal Aid of South Florida (CCLA) For the Public Good event. The event took place at the Pier 66 Hotel and Marina in Fort Lauderdale on October 25.

The evening reception paid tribute to five outstanding community advocates who have gone above and beyond in their efforts to secure justice and change lives for the underprivileged and underserved in Broward County, including Robin S. Moselle, Esq., who received the Russell E. Carlisle Advocacy Award; Joshua R. Levenson, Esq., who received the Commitment to Justice Award; Weiss Serota Helfman Cole & Bierman, P.L., which received the Law Firm of the Year Award; Kathleen Cannon, who received the Spirit of Justice Award; and Dale F. Webner, Esq., who received Attorney of the Year Award.

The evening is widely-noted throughout Broward as the leading pro-bono recognition event of the year. In attendance were numerous Broward County judges, lawyers and community leaders including Florida Bar Foundation President Juliette Lippman and Executive Director Donny Mackenzie. Chad Van Horn, the 2017 Attorney of the Year, served as master of ceremonies.

Proceeds benefit children and families served by LAS and CCLA and enable both organizations to serve greater numbers of those in need.  A few of the many legal services provided include: helping seniors and veterans gain much needed benefits, seeing to the legal needs of abused children in foster care, the homeless, children in need of special education, victims of domestic violence and persons living with HIV/AIDS and families losing their homes to foreclosure. Both organizations aim to improve access to justice and deliver social and economic freedom to low-income, vulnerable and other marginalized populations. 

Event sponsors include Birnbaum, Lippman & Gregoire, PLLC; Blackhawk Investments; BoardroomPR; Sharon Bourassa and Winston Leavitt; Broward County Bar Association; Buchanan, Ingersoll & Rooney, PC; Daily Business Review; Florida Power & Light; GlantzLaw; Holland & Knight, LLP; JM Family Enterprises; Kelley Kronenberg, Attorneys at Law; Kim Vaughan Lerner LLP; Law Offices of Diana Santa Maria, P.A.; Rhoda and Stephen Moss; Setnor Byer Insurance & Risk; Talenfeld Law; Valley National Bank; United Way of Broward County; Van Horn Law Group; Weiss Serota Helfman Cole & Bierman, P.L.; and the Young Lawyers Section of the BCBA.

For more information about the event, or how to get involved with LAS and CCLA, please contact Dorian Lange, or call 954-736-2429.


Coast to Coast Legal Aid of South Florida is a not-for-profit law firm established in 2003 and funded, in part, by the Legal Services Corporation. Our mission is to improve the lives of low income persons in our community through advocacy, education, representation and empowerment.

Legal Aid Service of Broward County is not-for-profit law firm established in 1973. Our mission is to provide high quality free civil legal advice, representation and education to the poor of Broward County so as to improve the lifestyle and living conditions of the low-income community and to encourage self-sufficiency.

Legal Aid Service of Broward County (LAS) and Coast to Coast Legal Aid of South Florida (CCLA) are 501(c)(3) corporations registered with the Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer services (LAS #SC-02337 and CCLA #CH19226).  All donations are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. A copy of the official registration and financial information may be obtained from the Division of Consumer Services by calling toll-free 1-800-435-7352 within the state OR VISITING WWW.FRESHFROMFLORIDA.COM.  Registration does not imply endorsement, approval or recommendation by the State.

Photo IDs:

001: Barbara Prager, Alison Smith, Tony Karrat
002: Juliette Lippman, Barbara Prager, Tony Karrat, Donny Mackenzie
003: Hon. Yael Gamm, Paul Gamm, Michael Fischler
004: Jeff Klink, James Karrat, Joseph Byrnes, Tony Karrat
005: Kathleen Cannon, Joshua Levenson, Robin Moselle
006: Gabriela Paez, Chad Van Horn, Debby Van Horn, Margarita Paez
007: Russell Carlisle, Robin Mosselle
008: Hon. Tarlika Navarro, Hon. Matthew Tannenbaum, Marta Estevez
009: Lisa Goldberg, Glenn Garrett, Hon. Raag Singhal, Murray Shepard
010: Faedrah Mahotiere, Todd Clarke
011: Stephan Moss, Rhoda Moss
012: Steve Jaffe, Juliet Roulhac
013: Brenda Forman, Dian Diaz

Safety Exit